2015 Annual Convention

Members of the Nebraska Funeral Directors Association (NeFDA) celebrated 129 years of funeral service during their 2015 Annual Convention, May 5-7 at the Embassy Suites in Lincoln.  More than 120 attendees participated in continuing education sessions, met with exhibitors in a full exhibit hall and enjoyed networking activities.  Educational sessions included: presentations about family services; making the best first impression; eulogies; how to form effective relationships with hospice workers; healing and humor; emergency operations; the first case of Ebola in the United States; and a Nebraska Issues Forum.

A memorial service was held honoring those in the funeral industry who have lost a loved one. Later, members enjoyed an evening banquet to honor outgoing president Gary Straatmann from Straatmann-O’Brien-Redinger Funeral Home in Kearney and to welcome the new president Tim Strauser from Blasé-Strauser Funeral Home in Gothenburg. The entertainment for the evening was comedian T. Marni Vos.

During the annual meeting, Straatmann read a proclamation from Governor Ricketts, congratulating NeFDA members on their 129 years of service to Nebraska citizens and proclaiming the week of May 3-9, 2015, as Funeral Service Professionals Week. NeFDA members elected a new secretary. The members of the 2015-16 NeFDA Board of Directors are:

  • President: Timothy Strauser, Blasé-Strauser Funeral Home, Gothenburg
  • President-Elect: Brad Perdue, Zabka Funeral Home, Seward
  • Secretary: William Cutler, IV, Heafey-Heafey-Hoffman-Dworak-Cutler Mortuaries, Omaha
  • Treasurer: Jim Wintz, Wintz Funeral Home, Hartington
  • Immediate Past President: Gary Straatmann, O’Brien-Straatmann-Redinger Funeral Home, Kearney
  • Director and District 1 President: Brian Kruse, Braman Mortuary, Omaha
  • Director and District 2 President: Misty Brestel, Metz Mortuary, York
  • Director and District 3 President: Ryan Berg, Biglin’s Mortuary, O’Neill
  • Director and District 4 President: Scot DeWitt, Lincoln Family Funeral Care, Lincoln
  • Director and District 5 President: Paula Bondegard, Holecheck Funeral Home, Oshkosh
  • Director and District 7 President: Tim Daum, Carpenter-Breland Funeral Home
  • Director and District 8 President: Mitch Solt, Solt Funeral Home, Central City