2012 Annual Convention

Members of the Nebraska Funeral Directors Association (NeFDA) celebrated 126 years of funeral service during the 2012 Annual Convention, April 23-25 at the Embassy Suites in Lincoln, Nebraska.  More than 170 attendees participated in continuing education sessions, met with exhibitors in a full exhibit hall and enjoyed networking activities.  Educational sessions included: presentations about cremation litigation; personalizing memorial services and increasing marketable services; managing change and managing people with a sense of humor; how to fix the most common misconceptions about funeral marketing; ideas on how to transform the way funeral arrangements are designed, conducted, and managed; and a Nebraska Issues Forum.

Members enjoyed an evening banquet to honor outgoing president Ron Levander from Levander Funeral Home in Albion. Mark Mayfield presented a humorous banquet program entitled “Momma Told Me There’d Be Days Like This.”

During the annual meeting, Levander read a proclamation from Governor Dave Heineman, congratulating NeFDA members on their 126 years of service to Nebraska citizens and proclaiming the week of April 22-28, 2012, as Funeral Service Professionals Week. NeFDA members elected a new secretary/treasurer.  The members of the 2012-13 NeFDA Board of Directors are:

  • President Jim Wintz, Wintz Funeral Home,Hartington, NE
  • President-Elect Vaughn Wright, Harman-Wright Mortuary, Beatrice, NE
  • Secretary/Treasurer Jerry Kracl, Kracl Funeral Chapel, Schuyler, NE
  • Immediate Past President Ron Levander, Levander Funeral Home, Albion, NE
  • Director and District 1 President Ryan Berg, Marcy & Svoboda Funeral Mortuaries, Wahoo, NE
  • Director and District 2 President Arvid Wiest, Fox Funeral Home, Beatrice, NE
  • Director and District 3 President Gregory Brockhaus, Brockhaus Funeral Home, Creighton, NE
  • Director and District 4 President Kevin Perrien, Sutton Memorial Chapel, Sutton, NE
  • Director and District 5 President Stefanie Sawyer, Jolliffe Funeral Home, Scottsbluff, NE
  • Director and District 7 President Timothy Strauser, Blasé-Strauser Memorial Chapel, Gothenburg, NE
  • Director and District 8 President Mark McBride, Horner Lieske McBride & Kuhl Funeral & Cremation, Kearney, NE